LibGuides: Speech Pathology: Print Books

Print books

The following books are available from the Queensland Health Library Network. Please contact your local Queensland Health library if you would like to borrow them.

Speech pathology

Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology by M. N. Hegde; Deborah Davis
ISBN: 9781435469563
Publication Date: 2009
For student clinicians and clinical supervisors alike, clinical practicum in speech-language pathology is a learning experience that involves clearly defined expectations, ethical principles, and effective methods of treatment.
Evidence Based Practice in Speech Pathology by Sheena Reilly; Alison Perry; Jenni Oates; Jacinta Douglas
ISBN: 1861563205
Publication Date: 2004
This text introduces therapists and speech pathologists to the principles of evidence-based practice and guides readers to the best available evidence regarding the management of a range of disorders within speech pathology.
Neurology for the Speech-Language Pathologist by Wanda Webb; Richard K. Adler
ISBN: 9780750675260
Publication Date: 2007
A clear, concise, and approachablebook helps students understand neurology in the context of speech-language pathology. Supplemented by a wealth of new illustrations and learning features for students, this new edition helps to demystify this often-daunting subject matter.
Anatomy and Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing by Anthony J. Seikel; Douglas W. King; David G. Drumright
ISBN: 9781428312234
Publication Date: 2009
Now in its fourth edition, ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY FOR SPEECH, LANGUAGE AND HEARING remains a highly acclaimed tool for instilling a solid foundation in the anatomical and physiological principles that pertain to the communication sciences and disorders di
Communication Sciences and Disorders by Ronald B. Gillam; Thomas P. Marquardt; Frederick N. Martin
ISBN: 9780763779757
Publication Date: 2010
Communication Sciences and Disorders: From Science to Clinical Practice is an excellent introductory text for undergraduate students enrolled in their first course in communication sciences and disorders. Written by experts in the field, this text contain
Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by Donald Fuller; Barbara M. Peregoy; Jane Pimentel
ISBN: 9780781788373
Publication Date: 2011
This textbook aligns the basic science of anatomy and physiology with the applied art and science of communication disorders. The content is approached from a clinical perspective so that students understand the application of the content.Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiologyis unique for its presentation of elementary and introductory anatomy and physiology in a framework of clinical practice.
Communication and Swallowing Management of Tracheostomized and Ventilator Dependent Adults by Karen J. Dikeman; Marta S. Kazandjian
ISBN: 9780769302454
Publication Date: 2002
This comprehensive manual provides a clinical, yet practical, approach to treating tracheostomized and ventilator-dependent patients. It provides the learner with clinical and case research information and encourages him/her to apply that information to their patient's needs on an individualized basis, rather than employing a ?cook book? approach to treatment. Emphasis is also placed on individualizing treatment and assessment protocols. The organizational structure is conducive to learning, as information builds on itself progressively from chapter to chapter.
Communication and Communication Disorders by Elena M. Plante; Pelagie M. Beeson
ISBN: 9780132658126
Publication Date: 2012-08-14
Featuring contributions from leading experts,Communication and Communication Disorders:A Clinical Introduction, 4eblends science, clinical applications, and introductory concepts to help readers develop a sound understanding of the field. Appropriate for both majors and non-majors, the text’s consistent format and unifying organization address communication disorders involving articulation, fluency, voice and swallowing, language, and hearing. Focusing on communication disorders over the lifespan, the text balances speech-language pathology and audiology and includes separate chapters devoted to child and adult disorders. This edition includes a new chapter on pediatric audiology; expanded discussion of language acquisition; and more information on autism, ADHD, intellectual disabilities, and childhood aphasia. Case illustrations, figures, and photographs are used liberally to illustrate concepts and a capstone chapter highlights possible careers.
Diagnosis and Evaluation in Speech Pathology by William O. Haynes; Rebekah H. Pindzola
ISBN: 9780137071326
Publication Date: 2011-03-06
A popular, practical, and comprehensive text that approaches the diagnosis and evaluation of speech and language with a special focus on the relationship between clinician and client. Diagnosis and Evaluation in Speech Pathology provides readers with a practical process approach to the diagnosis and evaluation of speech and language disorders. Equally helpful to students in training and practicing clinicians alike, this engaging resource develops a rationale for each type of assessment, including both standardized and non-standardized approaches. Each chapter highlights the most updated literature, clinical procedures and technological advances, while emphasizing diagnosis as an initial step in defining a communication disorder and while focusing on evaluation as an ongoing assessment process to monitor progress on treatment goals. Organized by communication disorder, this text makes for a vital reference, while case examples and real-world vignettes help readers best understand clinical skills with interviewing, report writing, and multicultural issues in assessment.
Translational Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by Robert Goldfarb
ISBN: 9781597564458
Publication Date: 2012-04-06
Communication Disorders in Multicultural and International Populations by Dolores E. Battle
ISBN: 9780323066990
Publication Date: 2011-10-27
Written by some of the top researchers and clinicians in the field, Communication Disorders in Multicultural Populations, 4th Edition offers an in-depth look at the major cultural groups in the U.S. and the issues concerning their communication development, common disorders, and treatment options. This fourth edition features a wealth of updates and new features - including the latest research and added coverage of communication issues in countries such as Australia, China, Canada, and Brazil - to give speech-language pathology students and speech-language pathologists a balanced and global perspective on the most topical multicultural communication issues of today. Comprehensive coverage focuses on a wide variety of cultural and age populations. Cutting-edge research and data offer up-to-date discussions based on the latest studies in multiculturalism as it relates to the SLP and AuD professions. Diverse panel of expert authors include some of the top researchers and clinicians in the field. Additional resources provide a focused listing of print and electronic sources at the end of each chapter to support more in-depth study of a particular subject. Chapter on international perspectives tackles issues in countries such as Australia, Canada, China, and Brazil to give you a more global understanding of communication disorders. The latest statistics from the 2010 U.S. Census report offers the most current data available. Increased content on older adults covers the multicultural issues, voice disorders, and neurogenic disorders particular to this important demographic. Case studies give you practice solving realistic clinical problems. Chapter overview and conclusion outline the key information in each chapter and serve as a checklist for content mastery.

Aphasia

Language Intervention Strategies in Aphasia and Related Neurogenic Communication Disorders by Roberta Chapey (Editor)
ISBN: 9780781769815
Publication Date: 2008
This thoroughly revised and updated Fifth Edition is the most comprehensive resource on aphasia and related neurogenic communication disorders from the most distinguished authorities of our time.

Dysphagia

Pediatric Swallowing and Feeding by Joan C. Arvedson; Linda Brodsky
ISBN: 0769300766
Publication Date: 2001
This book is a comprehensive primary reference for assessment and management of infants and children of all ages with feeding and swallowing problems. The authors cogently detail vital information with clarity and precision for all professionals involved with pediatric swallowing and feeding disorders. New chapters focus on behavioral related feeding problems and chronic aspiration. Major reorganization adds evidence based, up-to-date information useful to the student as well as the seasoned practitioner.
Feeding and Swallowing Disorders in Infancy by Lynn S. Wolf; Robin P. Glass
ISBN: 1602510059
Publication Date: 1992
Pre-feeding skills: a comprehensive resource for mealtime development by Susan Evans morris; Marsha Dunn Klien; foreward by Ellyn Satter
ISBN: 9781416403142
Publication Date: 2000
Feeding and nutrition for the child with special needs handouts for parents by Marsha Dunn Klein; Tracey A. Delaney
Call Number: 618.92137 KLE 1994
ISBN: 076164332x
Publication Date: 1994
Feeding and Swallowing Disorders in Dementia by Jacqueline Kindell
ISBN: 0863883125
Publication Date: 2002
Dysphagia in Neuromuscular Diseases by Robert M. Miller; Deanna Britton
ISBN: 9781597563697
Publication Date: 2011
Currently, there are very few resources that provide guidance for practicing clinicians in the area of neuromuscular diseases. Dysphagia in Neuromuscular Diseases approaches the subject in a unique manner, allowing clinicians to develop insights into diseases, syndromes, and neurological conditions that extend even beyond those specifically addressed in the text.
Dysphagia Post Trauma by Elizabeth C. Ward; Angela T. Morgan
ISBN: 9781597562362
Publication Date: 2009
This study is written with the practicing clinician in mind, describing traumatic brain injury and other traumatic injuries that inluence swallowing. This is the one critical swallowing book for those clinicians with traumatically injured men, women and children on their caseloads.

Stuttering

A Handbook on Stuttering by Oliver Bloodstein; Nan Bernstein Ratner
ISBN: 9781418042035
Publication Date: 2007
This is the classic textbook on stuttering now completely updated for its sixth edition. Comprehensive, clear, and accurate, this text is packed with research, theories, and practical information critical to understanding stuttering. It provides a detaile
The Handbook of Early Stuttering by Mark Onslow (Editor); Ann Packman (Editor)
ISBN: 1565939700
Publication Date: 1999
CONTENTS: Issues in the Treatment of Early Stuttering. The Parent-Child Group Approach to Stuttering in Preschool Children. Stuttering Prevention and Early Intervention: A Multiprocess Approach. Developmental Intervention: Differential Strategies. The Lidcombe Program. The Stuttering Intervention Program. Speech Motor Training. The Fluency Rules Program. The Monterey Fluency Program. Treatment of Early Stuttering: Some Reflections Index.

Paediatric Communication

PECS - The Picture Exchange Communication System by Lori Frost; Andrew Bondy
ISBN: 1928598056
Publication Date: 2002
Differential Diagnosis and Treatment of Children with Speech Disorder by Barbara Dodd; Karen Dodd
ISBN: 1861564821
Publication Date: 2005
Paediatric speech and language therapists are challenged by diminished resources and increasingly complex caseloads. The new edition addresses their concerns. Norms for speech development are given, differentiating between the emergence of the ability to produce speech sounds (articulation) and typical developmental error patterns (phonology). The incidence of speech disorders is described for one UK service providing crucial information for service management.
The efficacy of service provision is evaluated to show that differential diagnosis and treatment is effective for children with disordered speech. Exploration of that data provides implications for prioritising case loads. The relationship between speech and language disorders is examined in the context of clinical decisions about what to target in therapy.

New chapters provide detailed intervention programmes for subgroups of speech disorder: delayed development, use of atypical error patterns, inconsistent errors and development verbal dyspraxia.

The final section of the book deals with special populations: children with cognitive impairment, hearing and auditory processing difficulties. The needs of clinicians working with bilingual populations are discussed and ways of intervention described. The final chapter examines the relationship between spoken and written disorders of phonology.
Hegde's PocketGuide to Communication Disorders by M. N. Hegde
ISBN: 9781418052102
Publication Date: 2007
We are proud to offer a brand new companion pocket guide to accompany the respected PocketGuide to Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology and PocketGuide to Treatment in Speech-Language Pathology. This new PocketGuide to Communication Disorders summarizes available research and clinical information on disorders of communication, epidemiology and ethnocultural factors, symptomology, onset and development, etiological factors, and main theoretical concepts. Together with its companion pocket guides, a specialized dictionary of terms, clinical resource book, and textbook of assessment are combined in easy-to-access quick reference books. Clinicians and students agree that these are the most valuable resources you can include in your professional library.
Cleft Palate Speech Management by Robert J. Shprintzen; Janusz Bardach
ISBN: 0801664470
Publication Date: 1994
Interventions for Speech Sound Disorders in Children by A. Lynn Williams; Sharynne McLeod; Rebecca J. McCauley
ISBN: 9781598570182
Publication Date: 2010
With detailed discussion and invaluable video footage of 23 treatment interventions for speech sound disorders (SSDs) in children, this textbook and DVD set should be part of every speech-language pathologist's professional preparation. Focusing on children with functional or motor-based speech disorders from early childhood through the early elementary period, this textbook gives preservice SLPs critical analyses of a complete spectrum of evidence-based phonological and articulatory interventions.
This textbook fully prepares SLPs for practice with a vivid inside look at intervention techniques in action through DVD clips, large and varied collection of intervention approaches, and evidence-based intervention approaches.
An essential core text for pre-service SLPs¿and an important professional resource for practicing SLPs, early interventionists, and special educators¿this book will help readers make the best intervention decisions for children with speech sound disorders.
Handbook of Acquired Communication Disorders in Childhood by Bruce E. Murdoch
ISBN: 9781597560542
Publication Date: 2011
Provides comprehensive coverage of acquired motor speech and language disorders occurring in children in terms of their neuropathological basis, neurology, clinical symptomatology, prognosis, assessment, and treatment.The authors take a disease-specific approach, a comprehensive range of the childhood neurological conditions most commonly encountered clinically by speech-language pathologists covering traumatic brain injury, cerebrovascular accidents, childhood cancers (brain tumors and leukemia), infectious diseases, metabolic disorders, neural tube defects, anoxic conditions (e.g., immersion injury), and convulsive disorder. Also featured are full descriptions of the relevant assessment and treatment procedures currently recommended for use with each of these acquired childhood communication disorders, supported by numerous figures and graphs, case studies, and photographs of the various clinical conditions.

Dysarthria & Dyspraxia

Motor Speech Disorders by Joseph R. Duffy; Mayo Clinic Staff
ISBN: 0323024521
Publication Date: 2005
With expanded and updated information including current techniques, approaches, and case studies, the 2nd edition of this bestselling book continues its reputation as a dependable and outstanding evidence-based source on acquired motor speech disorders in adults. It covers the substrates of motor speech and its disorders, the disorders and their diagnoses, and management -- focusing on integrating what is known about the bases of motor speech disorders with the realities of clinical practice to ensure readers have the key content they need to be effective practitioners.
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults by M. N. Hegde; Don Freed
ISBN: 9781597564144
Publication Date: 2011
This new book is a much-awaited companion volume to Plural's Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children. These two volumes now offer a comprehensive set of resources and protocols to assess the entire range of communication disorders in all age groups.It offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of communication disorders in adults.
Clinical Management of Sensorimotor Speech Disorders by Malcolm Ray McNeil
ISBN: 9781588905147
Publication Date: 2008
Bringing together the expertise of leading research practitioners in the field, the second edition ofClinical Management of Sensorimotor Speech Disorders is an up-to-date reference for the underlying theory and the basic principles of assessment and treatment. This book provides a solid foundation in the conceptual framework essential for classifying and differentiating disorders according to clinical categories. It covers the theory underlying measurement strategies including acoustic, kinematic, aerodynamic, and electromyographic techniques, and guides the reader through treatments for each disorder.

Dysphonia

Clinical Voice Disorders by Arnold Elvin Aronson; Diane M. Bless
ISBN: 9781588906625
Publication Date: 2009
A multimedia reference for current approaches in assessment and treatment

The fourth edition ofClinical Voice Disordersis an up-to-date, practical reference for the management of voice disorders caused by structural and neurologic etiologies, as well as psychogenic disorders. The book provides a solid foundation for understanding the relationship between biology and clinical assessment; how neuromechanism relates to disorders; and the complex nature of behavioral voice disorders and treatment.

An expanded collection of clinical case studies provides the valuable opportunity to work through real-life examples of frequently encountered problems. New to this edition is a DVD-ROM with videos that provide a window into clinical interviewing, enabling viewers to observe Dr. Aronson's techniques and approaches to therapy. Additional chapters on the DVD-ROM present the evolution and embryology of the larynx and respiratory system, covering vital respiration, respiration for speech, and the anatomy and physiology of phonation. Demonstrations of vocal fold vibratory patterns, stroboscopic examples of various pathologies, and audio samples of dysarthric voices enable clinicians to apply concepts presented in the text.

Neurology

Neuropsychological Rehabilitation by Barbara A. Wilson; Fergus Gracey; Jonathan J. Evans; Andrew Bateman
ISBN: 9780521841498
Publication Date: 2009
The aim of neuropsychological rehabilitation is to enable people with cognitive, emotional, or behavioural deficits to achieve their maximum potential in the domains of psychological, social, leisure, vocational or everyday functioning. Describing the holistic programme devised and adopted at the world famous Oliver Zangwill Centre and embracing a broad theoretical base, incorporating a variety of frameworks, theories and models, this book proposes an integrated approach to brain injury rehabilitation by an interdisciplinary team. The coverage explains the underlying principles involved, describes the group therapies employed, highlights a selection of real case examples and reviews the outcomes measured and achieved. This book is essential reading for clinical neuropsychologists, clinical psychologists, speech and language therapists, occupational therapists, psychiatrists, neurologists, physiotherapists, social workers and nurses.
Neurology Secrets by Loren A. Rolak
ISBN: 9780323057127
Publication Date: 2010
Revised and updated, Neurology Secrets, 5th Edition has the answers you need. A two-color page layout, portable size, and a list of the "Top 100 Secrets" in neurology help you better meet the challenges you face today. You'll find all the features you rely on from the Secrets Series -a question-and-answer format, lists, mnemonics, tables, and an informal tone-that make study or reference fast and easy.
Neurology by Andrew Tarulli
ISBN: 9780521722223
Publication Date: 2010
"Neurology: A Clinician's Approach teaches a symptom-oriented approach to the 20 most common problems which face neurologists in training. Emphasizing the primary importance of the patient history, the reader is instructed which questions to ask in order to elicit the chief complaint, how to ask these questions, and how to interpret the answers. The neurologic examination is presented as a flexible diagnostic tool rather than as a rigid exercise to be performed by rote and without reference to the chief complaint. Each chapter integrates evidence-based and experience-based approaches to diagnostic testing and treatment. Frequently-encountered conditions, uncommon 'zebras', and non-neurologic mimics of nervous system dysfunction are all given appropriate weight.

Autism

Understanding Autism by Susan M. Dodd
ISBN: 1875897801
Publication Date: 2004
Understanding Autism is an important new book giving parents and carers a window of understanding and detailed up-to-date information about autistic spectrum disorders, including Asperger's syndrome. It provides practical suggestions and strategies, incorporating the latest teaching methods, to assist in the understanding and management of autism at home, in educational programs, and in the community. Understanding Autism discusses the unique learning styles, sensory sensitivities, different motivations and relative strengths in visual processing and rote memory skills of children and adults with autism.
Growing up with Autism by Robin L. Gabriels (Editor); Dina E. Hill (Editor)
ISBN: 9781593854591
Publication Date: 2007
The book is organized to address the many contexts of children's lives. It explores the changing needs of the individual with autism, traces the ongoing impact on the family, and provides strategies for making the most of available community resources.

Other Books

Assistive Technology by Oliver Wendt (Editor); Lyle L. Lloyd (Editor); Raymond W. Quist (Editor)
ISBN: 9781780522944
Publication Date: 2011-10-06
This book provides readers with vast knowledge of practical applications, theoretical models, services and evidence-based solutions in the areas of assistive technology (AT) and augmentative and alternative communication (AAC). It aims to equip practicing clinicians, educators and students with the necessary background to use AT and AAC with their clients. This book also sheds light on the many different roles and functions of AT and AAC for a large variety of clinical populations, and suggests solutions the reader can implement immediately. Although a particular focus is set on communication disorders, described applications and resources also apply to individuals with developmental disabilities and sensory impairments. In addition to outlining most recent low and high technology, this book makes a particularly strong effort to teach general principles and guidelines for successful AT and AAC interventions regardless of what particular technology is used.
This resource is a crucial addition to the bookshelf of any professional dealing with AT and/or AAC, including speech-language pathologists, special educators, occupational therapists, physical therapists, early intervention specialists, students in professional programs, users of AT or AAC, their families, and applied researchers. A must read for novices and seasoned professional alike.
Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics by William B. Carey; Heidi M. Feldman; William L. Coleman; Allen C. Crocker; Ellen Roy Elias
ISBN: 9781416033707
Publication Date: 2009-04-28
The fourth edition of Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics-the pioneering, original text in this field- emphasizes children's assets and liabilities, not categorical labels. It includes fresh perspectives from new editors-Drs. William Coleman, Ellen Elias, and Heidi Feldman. This comprehensive resource offers Recommendations and guidance on normal development and behavior and its genetic influences, the effect of general physical illness and psychosocial and biologic factors on development and behavior. With a more user-friendly design and online access through Expert Consult functionality, this resource offers easy access comprehensive guidance.
The Selective Mutism Resource Manual by Maggie Johnson; Alison Wintgens
ISBN: 9780863882807
Selectively mute children are at a significant disadvantage personally, socially and educationally. This unique manual emphasises practical assessment and treatment and provides advice and information, filling a significant gap in the availability of suitable resources in this field.- Uses an approach based on behavioural principles and a hierarchy of stages of confident speaking originally conceived by Anthony Glassberg.- Summarises relevant literature and theory and provides detailed ideas on assessment and management.- Includes case examples, photocopiable material, and a discussion about progress, transfer and discharge.- Written for teachers, clinical and educational psychologists, speech language therapists, child psychiatrists and parents..
Communication and Swallowing in Parkinson Disease by Deborah Thedoros (Editor); Lorraine Ramig (Editor)
ISBN: 9781597562058
Publication Date: 2011-05-25
Numerous books have been written on various medical aspects of Parkinson's Disease. Until now, however, there has not been published a text which focuses specifically on the debilitating speech, cognitive-linguistic, and swallowing disorders associated with this disease.

The current body of literature in the field of speech pathology pertaining to the description, assessment, and management of the communication and swallowing difficulties experienced by people with Parkinson's Disease is extensive. However, the majority of this literature is published in research journal article format, or as individual book chapters in various books. The first of its kind, Communication and Swallowing Disorders in Parkinson's Disease condenses and organizes this information into an accessible format in order to provide a comprehensive understanding of these disorders and their management in this clinical population.
A Guide to Clinical Assessment and Professional Report Writing in Speech-Language Pathology
ISBN: 9781435485327
Publication Date: 2011-06-23
A GUIDE TO CLINICAL ASSESSMENT AND PROFESSIONAL REPORT WRITING IN SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY, 1E not only provides guidance for the often overwhelming process of assessing speech and language disorders but also offers robust diagnostic report writing tools in one user-friendly resource. Organized by disorder, this book is the only one to provide a sample report for each of the major communicative disorders discussed. It also includes a chapter devoted to basic report writing skills and grammar. The assessment aspects of the book offer an in-depth chapter on counseling, a detailed and comprehensive chapter on dysphasia for both pediatric and adult populations, and a clear and practical chapter on assessment of accent. Each chapter is written by experts in their area of communication disorders and provides the following information: background and characteristics of the disorder; parameters for assessment; pertinent interview questions; an inventory and explanation of relevant formal and informal assessment measures in narrative and table format; a section on differential diagnosis to assist in teasing out the specific problem; and a sample case history with assessment tools chosen for that vignette along with rationale for making such selections. All this information is woven into a sample diagnostic report and a similar assignment is provided for practice, making this an ideal resource for ESL learners as well as students preparing for the praxis. Every chapter includes a list of key vocabulary and a glossary to familiarize your students with the professional vernacular relevant for writing diagnostic reports.

QH Libraries catalogue - HealthCat

Type book subject or title here

Suggest a resource

If you would like to suggest a book to be added to the QH Library Collection, please use the online form. Click below.

CKN Resource Suggestion Form

Book supply request

If you would like to borrow a book that is not from your home District QH Library, please click here.

Article and book requests