Research & Ethics: Print Books

Introduction : types of research -- 1. Develop the research objectives -- 2. Design and plan the study -- 3. Write the proposal -- 4. Obtain financial support for the research -- 5. Manage the research -- 6. Draw conclusions and make recommendations -- 7. Write the report -- 8. Disseminate the results -- 9. Introducing research methods -- 10. Desk research -- 11. Analysing desk research -- 12. Collecting quantitative data -- 13. Analysing quantitative data -- 14. Collecting qualitative data -- 15. Analysing qualitative data -- 16. Sources of further reading -- App. The market for information professionals.

'Nursing Research' continues the expansion of coverage on qualitative research, including important issues for specific qualitative traditions such as ground theory, phenomenology and ethnography.

This fully revised and expanded edition of Doing Research in the Real World introduces readers to all the essential aspects of the research process and will be an essential guide to any student on a research methods course. David Gray's clear and accessible introduction starts by setting out best approaches to the design of appropriate research tools, and leads the reader in to issues of data collection, analysis and writing up. Practically focused throughout, this book encourages the reader to develop an awareness of the real nature of research, and the many means by which data can be collected, validated and interpreted. Gray's book will help students with the full research process and covers: - How to select appropriate projects and research questions - How to decide on the most effective research design strategies - How to select and use appropriate data and literature sources - How to choose and implement methods of data collection - How to analyse and present data in a coherent and effective manner. This new edition provides five new chapters on: - Research Ethics - Searching, Reviewing and Using the Literature - Research Design using Qualitative Methods - Mixed Methods research designs, - Planning presentations and passing vivas. In addition a wide variety of case studies and activities and new practical 'Top Tips' for the discerning researcher have been incorporated. Written in a lively and accessible way Doing Research in the Real World can be used as a set text on an introductory methods course and can be used as an essential resource for students and researchers completing research projects across the Social Sciences, Education and Business Studies. The book will be accompanied by a companion website, featuring tutor's notes, powerpoint slides, downloadable additional readings and weblinks.

Health professionals are increasingly drawn towards research in the course of their training, often with little guidance on the skills and techniques required. This practical text provides essential advice to guide the beginner through the processes involved in selecting, organizing, funding, undertaking, evaluating and publishing a biomedical research project, and completing a postgraduate qualification. Cartoon illustrations provide a wry commentary on the ups and downs of life in research. This edition contains new content on choosing supervisors, career implications, degree structures, ethical issues and time conflicts between research and service needs, and is fully revised and updated to reflect changes in the structure of medical careers and degree courses, and the use of computational and information technology in research presentation. An invaluable guide suitable for all stages of a medical research career, from the first stages of research, through to professional supervisors, career counselors and postgraduate tutors.

Research Methods: A Framework for Evidence-Based Clinical Practiceis written specifically for students and practitioners in allied health care professions that treat patients with movement limitations, such as physical therapy and athletic training. Following the text's clear, easy-to-follow guidance, readers will quickly learn how to gather, read, interpret, assess, and apply research to clinical practice. Most importantly, they will discover how an evidence-based approach will improve clinical outcomes in their own practice.  

Bridge the gap between research and practice with DePoy and Gitlin's Introduction to Research: Understanding and Applying Multiple Strategies, 4th Edition. This completely updated, user-friendly text helps you better understand not only the research process, but also research designs and their applications to the real world of clinical practice. Covering multiple research strategies (including both qualitative and quantitative research), it gives you a balanced approach to various research traditions, addressing emerging key issues in today's health care environment. Offers a balanced approach to various research methods and multiple research strategies, including qualitative, quantitative, naturalistic and experimental-type, and more. Presents complex information in a clear, highly readable, and easy-to-understand manner. Keeps information relevant to today's health care environment with real-world "snapshots" and a final Stories from the Field chapter. Includes detailed discussions of qualitative and quantitative methodologies, a unique and balanced focus that makes this text more comprehensive than others in its field. Covers experimental-type, naturalistic, and mixed method design strategies, improving your ability to compare, contrast, and integrate different methods. Evolve online resources include statistics math tips to accompany Chapter 19, crossword puzzles, useful weblinks, and sample forms. Reflects recent changes in the field, including new material on preparing poster presentations, community and participatory research, translation issues, and advanced scale development, giving you the tools you need to devise successful research studies. Includes expanded evidence-based material and occupational therapy-specific information, discussing the methods used in each study.

Using jargon-free language, Designing Social Research provides guidance on how to practically plan your research study.

Written for advanced undergraduate students, postgraduate students planning theses and dissertations and other early career researchers, Designing and Managing Your Research Project helps you successfully plan and complete your research project by showing the key skills that you will need. The book covers: " choosing research methods " developing research objectives " writing proposals " literature reviews " getting ethics approval " seeking funding " managing a project " software skills " working with colleagues and supervisors " communicating research findings " writing reports, theses and journal articles " careers in research. Designing and Managing Your Research Project includes lots of examples, case studies and practical exercises to help you learn the research skills you will need and also to help you complete crucial project tasks. A key feature is its user-friendly guidance on planning projects and accessing information from the Internet.

The Third Edition of the bestselling text Research Design enables readers to compare three approaches to research - qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods - in a single research methods text. The book presents these three approaches side by side within the context of the process of research from the beginning steps of philosophical assumptions to the writing and presenting of research. The Third Edition: - presents the preliminary steps of using philosophical assumptions in the beginning of the book - provides an expanded discussion on ethical issues - emphasizes new Web-based technologies for literature searches - offers updated information about mixed-methods research procedures - contains a glossary of terms.

This eighth edition of Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice, written by AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck, is the ultimate guide to becoming a consumer of research! Discover What's New: Separate coverage of quantitative and qualitative research offers balanced, clear coverage of both methods New! Mixed Methods Research chapter covers the ever-popular blending of qualitative and quantitative data in a single inquiry Revisit Features That Have Made This Book a Classic Around the World: Our "Tips" help beginning students to read and understand research reports. Four full-length studies-two quantitative, one qualitative, and one mixed methods-along with Critiquing Guidelines help students to read, analyze, and critique reports.

In this new book, specifically written for first time researchers, Uwe Flick, author of the highly successful text  Introduction to Qualitative Research , focuses on the process of producing an undergraduate research project. He gives readers the fundamental data collection and analysis skills that they need for their first project, as well as a good understanding of the research process as a whole. The book covers both quantitative and qualitative methods, and contains  real life examples from the author's own research. Topics include:Reading and reviewing the literature Research design Writing up Research ethicsAs well as practical research techniques, Flick provides a basic explanation of methodological issues such as epistemology, the quantitative/qualitative debate and the wider social role of research, linking these to real world issue and the actual task of researching and writing a project.

The Third Edition of Research Methodology: A Step-by-Step Guide for Beginners integrates various quantitative and qualitative methodologies into eight practice-based-steps, providing lots of examples throughout to link theory with practice. Written specifically for students with no previous experience of research and research methodology, the writing style is simple and clear and the author presents this complex subject in a straightforward way that empowers readers to tackle research with confidence. The book has been revised and updated to include extended coverage of qualitative research methods in addition to existing comprehensive coverage of quantitative methods. There are also brand new learning features such as reflective questions throughout the text to help students consolidate their knowledge.

Research Methods in Health is an introductory text that shows students different research techniques and how they are of value to the health professions. The text assumes no prior knowledge and is written in an appealing student-friendly style using examples and practitioner vignettes to demonstrate the relevance of research to health care practice.

The highly-anticipated Fourth Edition of this bestselling text still succeeds in providing a step-by-step guide to implementing particular methodologies, while simultaneously encouraging a strong awareness of philosophical assumptions. NEW to the Fourth Edition: - Expanded coverage to accommodate recent developments in management research methodology. New topics include: doing a literature review, case study research, action research, mixed methods, and writing-up. - Packed with practical research examples and exercises that encourage students to reflect upon the issues raised and relate them to their own experience. - Additional learning features including critical reflection boxes, case studies and chapter summaries. - A companion website with a full Instructors' Manual and PowerPoint slides. Students have free access to downloadable journal articles and author podcasts. Using a practical approach, but with explicit attention to the role of theory in management research, the new edition of Research Methods for Managers is a stimulating guide for students in management, organization and organization research.

The Second Edition of Researching Health covers everything that a student or new researcher will need when starting to conduct their own research in a range of healthcare settings. The chapters guide the reader through each specific qualitative, quantitative and mixed method, and show how these work in practice. In the Second Edition, the authors place particular focus on the critical appraisal of research - asking not only how different forms of research can be conducted, but also how we can use the research of others effectively.  

Written in a lively, accessible style, Doing Qualitative Research, 3rd Edition provides a step-by-step guide to all the questions students ask when beginning their first research project. Silverman demonstrates how to learn the craft of qualitative research by applying knowledge about different methods to actual data. He provides practical advice on key issues such as: defining 'originality' and narrowing down a topic; keeping a research diary and writing a research report;and presenting research to different audiences.

Each stage in the research process is grounded in worked examples based on the experiences of real students, with exercises designed both to test readers' knowledge and to encourage the development of practical skills.

This hugely popular textbook is essential reading for anyone planning their own research project.

David Silverman is Professor Emeritus, Sociology Department, Goldsmiths College and Visiting Professor, Management Department, Kings College, University of London.

Qualitative Research Methods 4th Edition provides an accessible, practical guide to conducting and analysing qualitative research. This multidisciplinary text uses relevant and engaging examples to explain methodological issues, and shows how to use established, innovative and complex methods of research effectively. New to this edition: New chapter: Conducting Cross-cultural Research Qualitatively More criminology examples throughout the bookUpdated examples. Qualitative Research Methods 4th Edition is also available as an e-book.

In this Third Edition of his bestselling text John W. Creswell explores the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. In his signature accessible writing style, the author relates research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry. He compares theoretical frameworks, ways to employ standards of quality, and strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative, and verifying results.

Offering practical answers to complex questions in qualitative research design Providing students in applied social and behavioral science disciplines with invaluable guidance on developing and successfully defending qualitative research proposals, the Fifth Edition of this bestselling text offers expanded coverage of ethics, data analysis, and research design techniques. Authors Catherine Marshall and Gretchen B. Rossman cover distance-based research (such as email interviews); the implications of postmodern turns; integrating archival material; and creative ways of presenting the research. The authors include updates to popular features, such as vignettes that illustrate the methodological challenges today's qualitative researcher face. New to this Edition An entire chapter devoted to ethical issues (as well as continuous coverage throughout the book) Expanded discussions of internet ethnography, cultural studies, critical race theory, and queer theory A greatly enhanced chapter on data analysis This book is appropriate for all graduate-level Introduction to Qualitative Methods courses in education, nursing, sociology, human services, and other related fields.

This lively, practical text presents a fresh and comprehensive approach to doing qualitative research. The book offers a unique balance of theory and clear-cut choices for customizing every phase of a qualitative study. A scholarly mix of classic and contemporary studies from multiple disciplines provides compelling, field-based examples of the full range of qualitative approaches. Readers learn about adaptive ways of designing studies, collecting data, analyzing data, and reporting findings. Key aspects of the researcher's craft are addressed, such as fieldwork options, the five phases of data analysis (with and without using computer-based software), and how to incorporate the researcher's "declarative" and "reflective" selves into a final report.   Ideal for graduate-level courses, the text includes: * Discussions of ethnography, grounded theory, phenomenology, feminist research, and other approaches. * Instructions for creating a study bank to get a new study started. * End-of-chapter exercises and a semester-long, field-based project. * Quick study boxes, research vignettes, sample studies, and a glossary. * Previews for sections within chapters, and chapter recaps. * Discussion of the place of qualitative research among other social science methods, including mixed methods research.

This accessibly written book is ideal for use in graduate courses or by practicing researchers and evaluators. The author puts the research problem at center stage, showing how mixed methods designs can fruitfully address different types of research questions. She illustrates the discussion with examples of mixed methods studies from a variety of disciplines and qualitative approaches (interpretative, feminist, and postmodern). The text demonstrates how to navigate ethical issues; gather, analyze, and interpret data; and write up the results, including an in-depth example with step-by-step commentary. Special features include “researcher standpoint” reflections from leading scholars and practical strategies to help users develop their own research perspectives. Every chapter concludes with a glossary, discussion questions, and useful Web resources.

Concise, fast-paced, intensive introduction to clinical research design for students and clinical research professionalsReaders will gain sufficient knowledge to pass the United States Medical Licensing Examination part I section in Epidemiology

This comprehensive workbook contains a variety of self-assessment methods that allow readers to test their statistical knowledge, put it into practice, and apply it in a medical context, while also providing guidance when critically appraising published literature. It is designed to support the best-selling third edition of Medical Statistics at a Glance, to which it is fully cross-referenced, but may be used independently of it.

Unrivalled in the way it makes the teaching of statistics compelling and accessible to even the most anxious of students, the only statistics textbook you and your students will ever need just got better! Andy Field's comprehensive and bestselling Discovering Statistics Using SPSS 4th Edition takes students from introductory statistical concepts through very advanced concepts, incorporating SPSS throughout. The Fourth Edition focuses on providing essential content updates, better accessibility to key features, more instructor resources, and more content specific to select disciplines.

This new edition of one of the most widely read textbooks in its field introduces the reader to data analysis with the most powerful and versatile statistical package on the market: IBM SPSS Statistics 19.

Written For Those Who Are Familiar With The Basic Strategies Of Analytic Epidemiology, Epidemiology: Beyond The Basics Takes Readers Through A More Rigorous Discussion Of Key Epidemiologic Concepts And Methods Such As Study Design, Measures Of Association, Research Assessment, And More. With Real-Life Examples Throughout, The Book Avoids Complex Statistical Formulations And Is An Invaluable Resource For Intermediate Students And Practicing Epidemiologists Who Wish To Expand Their Knowledge Of Epidemiology And Its Role In The Medical And Public Health Sciences. The Third Edition Offers A Completely Revamped Page Design That Will Make It Easier For Your Students To Navigate Through The Many Charts, Graphs, And Mathematical Formulas. It Also Offers Expanded Chapter Exercises, New And Updated References Throughout, As Well As Coverage Of Some New Topics Including: -Over-Diagnosis Bias (Ch. 4); -"Joint Presence Of Two Factors That Interact As A Confounding Variable" (Ch. 6); -"Alternative Approaches For The Control Of Confounding" (Ch. 7); -"Final Considerations" (Ch.8); -Decision Trees (Ch. 10) This Edition Also Offers An Updated Package Of Instructor Materials Including Instructor'S Manual, Powerpoint Lecture Slides, And A Test Bank.

Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health is the only textbook that combines the disciplines of medical epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in one convenient resource. Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this text presents the information you need with a clinical focus, using real-life medical examples throughout. With review questions in each chapter to maximize knowledge retention and target key areas of review, it serves as an outstanding resource for USMLE prep - and is recommended by the American Board of Preventive Medicine as a top review source for its core specialty examination! Grasp and retain vital information easily thanks to quick-reference boxes that showcase key concepts and calculations; succinct text; and dynamic illustrations that facilitate learning in a highly visual approach. Spend more time reviewing and less time searching thanks to an extremely focused, "high-yield" presentation. Deepen your understanding of complex epidemiology and biostatistics concepts through clinically focused, real-life examples. Gauge your mastery of public health concepts and build confidence with case-based questions - now accessed online for a more interactive experience - that provide effective chapter review and help you target key areas for further study. Keep up with the very latest in public health and preventive health - areas that have shown great growth in recent years. New coverage includes the epidemiology of mental health disorders, disaster planning, health care reform, and the 'One Health' concept that highlights the indelible links among the health of people, other species, and the planet itself. Access the complete contents online at Student Consult, plus additional tables and images, supplemental information on the One Health Initiative, the latest childhood immunization schedules, chapter highlights in PowerPoint, 300 multiple-choice chapter review questions and answers, a 177-question comprehensive review exam, and more!

Epidemiology, by award-winning educator and epidemiologist Leon Gordis, is a best-selling introduction to this complex science. Dr. Gordis leverages his vast experience teaching this subject in the classroom to introduce the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way. He guides you from an explanation of the epidemiologic approach to disease and intervention, through the use of epidemiologic principles to identify the causes of disease, to a discussion of how epidemiology should be used to improve evaluation and public policy. It's your best choice for an accessible yet rich understanding of epidemiology! Gain a solid foundation of basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice. Visualize concepts vividly through abundant full-color figures, graphs, and charts. Check your understanding of essential information with 320 multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions (120 inside the book plus 200 more online). Access the complete contents online at Student Consult, including over 200 additional multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions not found in the book, with answers to all questions as well as full rationales explaining why every answer is correct or incorrect. Master the latest nuances in epidemiology thanks to a wealth of new and updated illustrations, examples, and epidemiologic data.

Now in its Fifth Edition, Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials is a comprehensive, concise, and clinically oriented introduction to the subject of epidemiology. Written by expert educators, this text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The Fifth Edition includes more complete coverage of systematic reviews and knowledge management, as well as other key topics such as abnormality, diagnosis, frequency and risk, prognosis, treatment, prevention, chance, studying cases and cause.

Introduction to Epidemiology, Sixth Edition is the ideal introductory text for the epidemiology student with minimal training in the biomedical sciences and statistics. With updated tables, figures, and examples throughout, the Sixth Edition is a thorough revision that offers an all new, real world examples to help better illustrate elusive concepts. Learning objectives, as well as study questions with descriptive answers, in each chapter engage the student in further analysis and reflection.New Features of the Sixth Edition:Updated tables and figures.Addition of several real-world, practical examples.Added focus on setting-up contingency tables and calculating and interpreting appropriate measures of association.Greater detail and examples on conducting hypothesis testing.Greater detail and examples on calculating age-adjusting rates.Greater detail and examples on calculating years of potential life lost.Greater detail and examples on assessing clinical trials.Updated case studies.

Learn rigorous statistical methods to ensure valid clinical trials This Second Edition of the critically hailed Clinical Trials builds on the text′s reputation as a straightforward and authoritative presentation of statistical methods for clinical trials. Readers are introduced to the fundamentals of design for various types of clinical trials and then skillfully guided through the complete process of planning the experiment, assembling a study cohort, assessing data, and reporting results. Throughout the process, the author alerts readers to problems that may arise during the course of the trial and provides commonsense solutions. The author bases the revisions and updates on his own classroom experience, as well as feedback from students, instructors, and medical and statistical professionals involved in clinical trials. The Second Edition greatly expands its coverage, ranging from statistical principles to controversial topics, including alternative medicine and ethics. At the same time, it offers more pragmatic advice for issues such as selecting outcomes, sample size, analysis, reporting, and handling allegations of misconduct. Readers familiar with the First Edition will discover completely new chapters, including: ∗ Contexts for clinical trials ∗ Statistical perspectives ∗ Translational clinical trials ∗ Dose-finding and dose-ranging designs Each chapter is accompanied by a summary to reinforce the key points. Revised discussion questions stimulate critical thinking and help readers understand how they can apply their newfound knowledge, and updated references are provided to direct readers to the most recent literature. This text distinguishes itself with its accessible and broad coverage of statistical design methods--the crucial building blocks of clinical trials and medical research. Readers learn to conduct clinical trials that produce valid qualitative results backed by rigorous statistical methods.

Policy makers are increasingly demanding evidence from randomized trials. The book focuses on the design of rigorous trials rather than their statistical underpinnings or analyses. Consequently, statistical theory is absent and statistical methods are minimal. Few other texts go into such detailed description about randomization procedures and different trial designs within the same volume. The book has chapters on: pragmatic designs; placebo designs; preference approaches; unequal allocation; economics; analytical approaches; randomization methods.

[http://www.cdu.edu.au/cdupress/books/communicating-at-3ed.htm]

This third edition of the volume aims to ensure that students in any field of higher education have a good foundation in the academic communication skills required to succeed at university and in professional settings. It explains how they should go about:
? Writing in an academic style
? Thinking and planning for assignments
? Developing effective reading and critical evaluation techniques
? Note-taking, paraphrasing and summarising
? Referencing
? Editing for correct grammar, punctuation and conciseness
? Writing the different assignments required at university: essays, reports, annotated bibliographies and critiques
? Communicating verbally

The text is written by experts in the fields of Applied Linguistics and Academic Literacy who are actively engaged in related teaching and research at Charles Darwin University. The authors have used an approach that embeds the information being taught in discussion and activities. This allows students to gain a deep understanding of what they are learning, and experience in how to put this into practice. The text is designed so that students can learn the skillstaught independently. It is also a complete resource for teachers of academic literacy.

Social workers are required to communicate in writing for a range of purposes, and to write effectively for a range of audiences. This new edition of the best-selling Writing Skills for Social Workers aims to raise the profile of writing skills in social work practice. It encourages the development of writing techniques which will stand the reader in good stead throughout their professional career. Examples of the types of writing covered include: Case-notes Reports Proposals Literature reviews Journal articles Funding applications

Communicating in the Health Sciences introduces students to the nature and importance of communication in the health sciences, with comprehensive coverage of all the written, electronic, visual, and interpersonal communication skills essential for professions in the health sciences.

Anyone faced with the task of preparing material for publication needs guidance. This sixth edition of the Style Manual provides guidance and detailed advice on publishing in both print and electronic formats. It represents a substantial revision in response to the rapid and extensive changes that have occurred in publishing since the fifth edition was produced in 1994. The new Style Manual continues to provide detailed information and recommendations on the best practices in design, editing, production and writing. This edition builds on the Style Manual's reputation as an outstanding Australian reference standard for all those who understand the value of effective communication.

The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, this updated "Publication Manual" provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias.

For decades indispensable, the AMA Manual of Style continues to provide editorial support to the medical and scientific publishing community. Since the 1998 publication of the 9th edition, however, the world of medical publishing has rapidly modernized, and the intersection of research and publishing has become ever more complex. The 10th edition of the AMA Manual of Style, published in early 2007, brings this definitive manual into the 21st century with a broadened international perspective. In doing so, the 10th edition has expanded its electronic guidelines, with the understanding that authors now routinely submit articles through online systems and often cite Web-only content. Ethical and legal issues receive increased attention, with detailed guidelines on authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, and the protection of individuals' rights in scientific research and publication. The new edition examines research ethics and editorial independence and features new material on indexing and searching as well as medical nomenclature. JAMA and the Archives Journals, one of the most groups of medical publications in the world, have lent members of their expert staff of professional journal editors to the committee that has produced this edition. Extensively peer-reviewed, the 10th edition provides a welcome and improved standard for the growing international medical community. More than a style manual, this 10th edition offers invaluable guidance on how to navigate the dilemmas that authors and researchers and their institutions, medical editors and publishers, and members of the news media who cover scientific research confront in a society that has thrust these issues center stage.

A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.

This is a compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly Discusses the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to each

A Crash Course in Writing Powerful, Persuasive Grants! "Grant Writing 101 provides straightforward and effective strategies for improving results. It is a wonderful reference guide for experienced fundraisers and an invaluable 'how-to' manual for those starting their careers." —Emmett D. Carson, Ph.D., CEO and President, Silicon Valley Community Foundation "This new book is an essential tool in helping nonprofits manage grant writing by keeping it simple, easy, and enjoyable!" —Barb Larson, CEO, American Red Cross, Silicon Valley Grant Writing 101offers quick and easy tactics for getting the funding you need—right now! Written to enable beginners with little or no experience to hit the ground running, it covers: Ten tactics for writing a compelling proposal Tips for finding the best grantor for your needs Important components of various types of grants Next steps for when you're approved Includes samples of grant proposals and budget presentations!

This book is designed to help nonprofit organizations craft proposals for grants from foundations, companies, and government agencies. Ellen Karsh, a writer and former director of the Mayor's Office of Grants Administration, in New York, and Arlen Sue Fox, associate executive director for development at Sunnyside Community Services, also in New York, significantly update this edition from 2005 by including interviews with grant makers about how the current economic crisis is affecting their giving and how grant seekers can improve their chances of garnering support. The book includes a proposal checklist, a glossary of terms, sample grant forms, and a list of Web sites that provide information on grants offered by foundations, corporations, and the government. —from theChronicle of Philanthropy