Physiotherapy Persistent Pain Management: eBooks

Noted pain authority Dr. Steven Waldman returns with a new edition of Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes. Delivering complete, concise, step-by-step visual guidance, this innovative, popular atlas equips you to effectively diagnose and manage pain syndromes commonly encountered in any clinical practice. Clearly labeled, vivid illustrations depict the physical symptoms and anatomy of each pain site, and diagnostic images demonstrate key findings from MRI, CT, and conventional radiography. With an easy-to use, templated format, and online access to the complete text and image bank at www.expertconsult.com, you'll have Dr. Waldman's preferred approaches right at your fingertips. Avoid potential pitfalls in diagnosis and treatment of pain syndromes by referring to "Side Effects and Complications" sections in each chapter. Ensure proper reimbursement with comprehensive coverage of insurance coding information. Quickly and easily find the information you need thanks to highly templated chapters that explore signs and symptoms, physical findings, laboratory and radiographic testing, treatment options, clinical pearls, and diagnostic codes for each pain syndrome. Accurately diagnose and treat common pain syndromes by following a step-by-step approach that progresses from signs and symptoms through physical findings, laboratory and radiographic testing, treatment options, clinical pearls, and diagnostic codes. Effectively apply the latest pain management techniques and approaches with 20 new chapters covering Supraorbital Neuralgia, Charlin's Syndrome, Vail's Syndrome, Hyoid Syndrome, Subacromial Impingement Syndrome, Thrower's Elbow Syndrome, and Triangular Fibrocartilage Tera Syndrome - to keep you abreast of the conditions presenting in today's pain management practice. See, identify, and diagnose patients' pain issues with help from clinically relevant illustrations that connect pain syndromes to clearly labeled anatomic illustrations. Line drawings, clinical photographs as well as x-rays, CTs, and MRIs, helping you to confirm your diagnoses and confidently implement pain management techniques. Access the complete text and illustrations online at Expert Consult, fully searchable. Reinforce your knowledge with 20 new pain syndromes added in which the pieces of the puzzle (signs and symptoms) don't quite fit the simple diagnosis. A quick reference for any physician who handles diagnosing and managing patients with pain.

Arranged by anatomic region, Atlas of Interventional Pain Management provides pain medicine specialists in practice and in training with the most up-to-date and practical guide to over 160 interventional pain management techniques. High-quality photographs, procedural videos, and 19 brand-new chapters combine to offer the detailed guidance you need to implement safe, effective treatments and achieve the best possible outcomes in Pain Medicine. "The comprehensive coverage of blocks throughout the body is impressive, and if you wish to own only one textbook on the subject, this is probably the one." Reviewed by British Journal of Anaesthesia, Jun 2015 Maximize your success rate and reduce complications with CPT codes for each procedure, as well as indications, relevant anatomy, technique, side effects and complications, and clinical pearls. Integrate interventional techniques into your practice with lavish, detailed illustrations that highlight the key steps in each procedure. View line drawings paired with CT, MR and/or radiographic images to illustrate relevant points in the text. Stay current on the latest injection techniques with 19 brand-new chapters including: Brachial Plexus Block - Infraclavicular Approach; Transverse Abdominis Plane Block; Anterior Cutaneous Nerve Block; Lumbar Grey Ramus Communicans Block; Lumbar Grey Ramus Communicans Block - Radiofrequency Lesioning; and more. Expand the breadth of procedures you perform by focusing on the "how" rather than the "why" of various pain-relieving techniques. Increase needle-placement precision and find the exact location to deliver the nerve block with significantly expanded fluoroscopy- and ultrasound-guided content. Visualize proper needle placement with help from an increased number of high-quality photographs. Understand how techniques are performed by watching procedural videos that cover Cervical Translaminar Epidural Block; Cervical Paravertebral Medical Branch Block; Percutaneous Facet Fusion; Lumbar Transforaminal Epidural Block; and more. View online-only chapters accessible via Expert Consult, as well as additional online-only figures, key terms, and abstract sections. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.

Obtain optimal diagnostic results from the field's foremost pain expert! Noted authority Steven D. Waldman, MD, JD, offers complete, concise, and highly visual guidance on the diagnosis of more than 100 uncommon pain syndromes less frequently encountered in daily practice. Vivid illustrations depict the physical symptoms and anatomy of each pain site as well as key imaging findings involving techniques such as MRI, CT, and conventional radiograph. It's the effective, easy-access resource you need to evaluate uncommon pain syndromes and sharpen your diagnostic skills. Uses a consistent format to explore each pain syndrome, progressing through diagnostic codes . signs and Accurately diagnose and treat uncommon pain syndromes by following a step-by-step approach that progresses from signs and symptoms through physical findings, laboratory and radiographic testing, treatment options, and clinical pearls. Recognize the visual manifestations of pain with help from nearly 400 vivid illustrations-more than 100 new to this edition, many in color-depicting the physical symptoms and anatomy of each pain site, and diagnostic images demonstrating key findings from MRI, CT, and conventional radiography. Effectively apply the latest techniques and approaches with complete updates throughout including new chapters on SUNCT Headache, Primary Thunderclap Headache, Hypnic Headache, Nummular Headache, Atypical Odontalgia, Burning Mouth Syndrome, Nervus Intermedius Neuralgia, Red Ear Syndrome, Clival Chordoma Syndrome, Glomus Tumor of the Shoulder, Osteonecrosis of the Elbow Joint, Driver's Elbow, Boxer's Knuckle, Trigger Wrist, Superior Cluneal Nerve Entrapment Syndrome, Clitoral Priapism, Breaststroker's Knee, Glomus Tumor of the Knee, and Fabella Syndrome. Quickly and easily find the information you need thanks to highly templated chapters. Confidently overcome the clinical challenges you're likely to face with well-rounded guidance from this companion volume to Dr. Waldman's Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes, 3rd Edition. Access the complete text and illustrations online at expertconsult.com, fully searchable. Features updated chapters throughout, andnbsp;19 new chaptersnbsp;to keep you abreast of the conditions presenting in today's practice. Presents over 350 illustrations-175 in full color and more than 100 new to this edition-as well as x-rays, CTs, and MRIs, helping you to confirm your diagnoses and confidently implement techniques. Brand new chapters include: SUNCT Headache nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Primary Thunderclap Headache nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Hypnic Headache nbsp; Nummular Headache Atypical Odontalgia Burning Mouth Syndrome nbsp; Nervus Intermedius Neuralgia Red Ear Syndrome Clival Chordoma Syndrome Glomus Tumor of the Shoulder Osteonecrosis of the Elbow Joint Driver's Elbow Boxer's Knuckle Trigger Wrist Superior Cluneal Nerve Entrapment Syndrome Clitoral Priapism Breaststroker's Knee Glomus Tumor of the Knee Fabella Syndrome

This unique resource focuses on the diagnosis and treatment of painful conditions-both acute and chronic-from a multi-disciplinary perspective. Joined by a team of nearly 200 international contributors representing a wide range of specialties, Dr. Smith presents the best management options within and across specialties. Succinct treatment and therapy guidelines enable you to quickly access clinically useful information, for both inpatient and outpatient pain management, while a 2-color format enhances readability and ease of use and highlights key concepts. And, as an Expert Consult title, it includes access to the complete contents online, fully searchable, plus links to Medline and PubMed abstracts-providing rapid, easy consultation from any computer! Includes access to the complete text online, fully searchable, plus links to Medline and PubMed abstracts-providing quick and convenient reference from anyplace with an Internet connection. Offers a cross-discipline approach to pain management for a comprehensive view of the best treatment options within and across specialties including internal medicine, gynecology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, orthopedics, and family medicine. Provides succinct treatment and therapy guidelines, enabling you to locate useful information quickly. Organizes guidance on acute and chronic therapies in a templated format, to facilitate consistent, quick-access consultation appropriate for inpatient or outpatient pain management. Features a 2-color format that enhances readability and ease of use and highlights key concepts. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.

Diagnosis, Management, and Treatment of Discogenic Pain - a volume in the new Interventional and Neuromodulatory Techniques for Pain Management series - presents state-of-the-art guidance on the full range of discogenic pain relief techniques performed today. Leonardo Kapural, MD and Philip Kim, MD offer expert advice on a variety of procedures to manage and treat discogenic pain. Comprehensive, evidence-based coverage on selecting and performing these techniques - as well as weighing relative risks and complications - helps you ensure optimum outcomes. With online access to the fully searchable text and procedural videos at www.expertconsult.com, you'll have the detailed visual assistance you need right at your fingertips. Understand the rationale and scientific evidence behind discogenic pain relief techniques and master their execution. Optimize outcomes, reduce complications, and minimize risks by adhering to current, evidence-based practice guidelines for treating discogenic pain, when to recommend interventional procedures, how to perform them safely, and how to manage chronic back pain in the long term. Apply the newest techniques in discography, radiofrequency and heat procedures, disc fusion, nucleus replacement, and interventions for disc herniation. See how it's done through step-by-step procedural videos on Expert Consult . Quickly find the information you need in a user-friendly format with strictly templated chapters supplemented with illustrative line drawings, images, and treatment algorithms. Access the fully searchable contents and bonus full-length videos of lumbar discography, biacuplasty, and MILD procedures at expertconsult.com. Improve patient safety and minimize risks with evidence-based, step-by-step guidance for interventional and neuromodulatory techniques

This third edition of Essentials of Pain Medicine offers an accessible and concise, yet complete, overview of today's theory and practice of pain medicine and regional anesthesia. From a review of basic considerations through local anesthetics and nerve block techniques, this book provides the reader with an excellent tool for exam review or practice of Pain Management. Organized in a concise, practical quick-reference format. All chapters are brief and easy to read quickly. Offers specific strategies for the evaluation and management of a full range of pain syndromes, including cancer pain. Features over 230 diagrams, illustrations, summary charts and tables that clarify the information and make it easy to apply. Discusses the latest drugs and therapeutic approaches, such as acupuncture. Presents the management of pain for every setting where it is practiced, including the emergency room, the critical care unit, and the pain clinic. Includes new topics such as: imaging in pain medicine, radiation safety, issues associated with the use of narcotics, intraarticular and intraperitoneal use of opioids, pain management in the emergency room and in the intensive care unit, pain management issues during pregnancy, geriatric pain, and hospice care and end-of-life issues. New chapters on interventional procedures include discography, intradiscal electrothermal coagulation (IDET), vertebroplasty, and piriformis injections. Truncal blocks and neuraxial blocks and anticoagulants are added to the section on nerve blocks. With 89 additional contributing experts.

Neurostimulation for the Treatment of Chronic Pain - a volume in the new Interventional and Neuromodulatory Techniques for Pain Management series - presents state-of-the-art guidance on the full range of neuromodulation techniques performed today. Salim Hayek, MD, PhD and Robert Levy, MD, PhD offer expert advice on a variety of spinal cord, peripheral nerve, and peripheral nerve field stimulation procedures to treat chronic pain. Comprehensive, evidence-based coverage on selecting and performing these techniques - as well as weighing relative risks and complications - helps you ensure optimum outcomes. With access to the fully searchable text at www.expertconsult.com, you'll have the detailed visual assistance you need right at your fingertips. Understand the rationale and scientific evidence behind interventional and neuromodulatory techniques and master their execution. Optimize outcomes, reduce complications, and minimize risks by adhering to current, evidence-based practice guidelines. Apply the newest developments in motor cortex stimulation, deep brain stimulation, peripheral nerve stimulation, and spinal cord stimulation. Quickly find the information you need in a user-friendly format with strictly templated chapters supplemented with illustrative line drawings, images, and treatment algorithms. Access the fully searchable contents, plus bonus procedural videos, at expertconsult.com. Improve patient safety and minimize risks with evidence-based, step-by-step guidance for interventional and neuromodulatory techniques

Regarded as the premiere clinical reference in its field, Pain Management, 2nd Edition, edited by noted pain authority Dr. Steven Waldman, provides comprehensive, practical, highly visual guidance to help you effectively apply the most recent evidence-based advances in pain management. This popular text has been updated with 13 new chapters that include the latest information on interventional and ultrasound-guided techniques, acute regional pain nerve blocks, and more. A user-friendly format with lavish illustrations and complete online access at www.expertconsult.com enable you to access trusted guidance quickly...and apply the information easily...to bring effective pain relief to your patients. Tap into the experience of the book's editor, Dr. Steven D. Waldman-author of numerous groundbreaking pain management references-and a diverse collection of leading international experts, many of whom are new to this edition. Effectively diagnose and manage any type of pain by implementing the latest, evidence-based approaches including interventional and ultrasound-guided techniques, and acute regional pain nerve blocks. Get extended coverage from bonus, online-only chapters. Search the full text online at expertconsult.com including a downloadable image library and references linked to pub med abstracts. Keep up with the most essential and latest topics with fully revised chapters and 13 new chapters that include information on central pain modulation, ultrasound-guided procedures, myelopathy, and more. Find the critical answers you need quickly and easily thanks to a templated format, with all content solely reviewed by Dr. Waldman to insure consistency throughout. Make more accurate diagnoses and perform nerve blocks successfully with unmatched guidance from 1100 full-color, large-scale illustrations. Evidence based procedurally focused content from Dr. Waldman.

No matter what questions arise in practice or while preparing for boards, Pain Management Secrets, 3rd Edition has the answers. A two-color page layout, portable size, and a list of the "Top 100 Secrets" in pain management help you better meet the challenges you face today. You'll find all the features you rely on from the Secrets Series#65533;-a question-and-answer format, lists, mnemonics, tables and an informal tone-that make reference fast and easy. Expedites reference and review with a question-and-answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from the authors. Features a two-color page layout, "Key Points" boxes, and lists of useful web sites to enhance your reference power. Presents a chapter containing "Top 100 Secrets", providing you with an overview of essential material for last-minute study or self-assessment. Fits comfortably in the pocket of your lab coat so you have it conveniently on hand at all times. Features new editors, Charles E. Argoff, MD and Gary McCleane, MD who present a thorough update on the latest in pain management. Presents a new contemporary internal design that helps you navigate the text easier.

In the 3rd Edition of Pain Procedures in Clinical Practice, Dr. Ted Lennard helps you offer the most effective care to your patients by taking you through the various approaches to pain relief used in physiatry today. In this completely updated, procedure-focused volume, you'll find nearly a decade worth of new developments and techniques supplemented by a comprehensive online video collection of how-to procedures at www.expertconsult.com. You'll also find extensive coverage of injection options for every joint, plus discussions of non-injection-based pain relief options such as neuromuscular ultrasound, alternative medicines, and cryotherapy. Offer your patients today's most advanced pain relief with nearly a decade worth of new developments and techniques, masterfully presented by respected physiatrist Ted Lennard, MD. Make informed treatment decisions and provide effective relief with comprehensive discussions of all of the injection options for every joint. Apply the latest non-injection-based treatments for pain relief including neuromuscular ultrasound, alternative medicines, and cryotherapy. See how to get the best results with a comprehensive video collection of how-to procedures at www.expertconsult.com, and access the complete text and images online. Expand your practice and treat patients more effectively using the latest pain procedures in physiatry.

Dr. Steven Waldman, a noted authority in the multidisciplinary field of pain management, has assembled an excellent study guide for certifying or recertifying in pain management. A keyword-oriented review of the specialty, it offers the consistent approach and editorial style that make Dr. Waldman's books and atlases some of the most widely read in the field. An easy-access, templated approach helps you to access desired information quickly, and clear illustrations make difficult concepts easier to understand. Covering an exhaustive list of known and defined pain syndromes classified by body region, this is the one must-have book for anyone preparing for examinations. Expert Consult functionality allows you to access the entire contents of the book from any Internet connection. Provides a keyword-oriented review of pain medicine that closely follows the board style of examination and study. Maintains a consistent approach and editorial style as a single-authored text by noted authority Steven D. Waldman, MD. Utilizes a templated format so you access the information you need quickly and easily. Makes difficult concepts easier to understand using clear conceptual illustrations. Creates a virtual one-stop shop with an exhaustive list of known and defined pain syndromes classified by body region. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.

2016 BMA Medical Book Awards First Prize in Anesthesia! Still the only atlas available devoted to the physical diagnosis of pain, this highly practical guide mirrors the clinician's approach to pain evaluation: focusing on "what is it" rather than "where is it." Through concise text, high-quality illustrations, and real-time videos, internationally recognized pain expert Dr. Steven Waldman provides clear, how-to methods for evaluating and diagnosing more than 240 pain-related conditions through their physical signs. Comprehensive and lavishly illustrated, this essential atlas is a must-have resource for all practitioners and trainees that encounter patients with pain. Provides essential physical examination techniques for the full range of pain-related conditions in the cervical spine, shoulder, elbow, forearm, wrist and hand, chest wall, thorax and thoracic spine, lumbar spine, abdominal wall and pelvis, hip, knee, ankle and foot. Each chapter follows the same concise format for ease of use and quick reference: anatomy, inspection, palpation, and range of motion, followed by relevant special tests. Includes 20 brand-new procedures such as the Sharp Purser Test for atlanto-axial joint instability; the Crank Test for tears of the glenoid labrum; the Chair Lift Test for tennis elbow; the Stork Test for sacroiliac joint pain; the Fulcrum Test for stress fractures of the femur; the Mulder Sign for Morton's neuroma, and many more. Provides exceptional visual guidance via hundreds of high-quality radiographic images, clinical photos, and color line drawings -- many NEW to this edition. Includes real-time videos of Dr. Waldman and his staff demonstrating key physical examination techniques, helping you increase your expertise and reach an accurate diagnosis.

Obtain all the core knowledge in pain management you need from one of the most trusted resources in the field. The new edition of  Practical Management of Pain gives you completely updated, multidisciplinary overview of every aspect of pain medicine, including evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more. In print and online, it is all the expert guidance necessary to offer your patients the best possible relief. "In summary, this is the best explanation of what lies behind MRI that I have read, taking what can be a dry subject and making it readily understandable and really interesting. I would recommend it to anyone starting their MRI training and anyone trying to teach MRI to others." Reviewed by RAD Magazine, June 2015 Understand and apply the latest developments in pain medicine with brand-new chapters covering disability assessment, central post-stroke pain, chronic widespread pain, and burn pain. Effectively ease your patients' pain with today's best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents (such as topical analgesics). Access up-to-the-minute knowledge on all aspects of pain management, from general principles to specific management techniques, with contributions from renowned experts in the field. Read the full text and view all the images online at expertconsult.com. Understand and apply the latest developments in pain management with brand-new chapters covering disability assessment, central post-stroke pain, widespread chronic pain, and burn pain. Effectively ease your patients' pain with today's best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents (such as topical analgesics).

2014 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Anaesthesia category! Apply the latest scientific and clinical advances with Wall & Melzack's Textbook of Pain, 6th Edition. Drs. Stephen McMahon, Martin Koltzenburg, Irene Tracey, and Dennis C. Turk, along with more than 125 other leading authorities, present all of the latest knowledge about the genetics, neurophysiology, psychology, and assessment of every type of pain syndrome. They also provide practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, electrostimulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options. Benefit from the international, multidisciplinary knowledge and experience of a "who's who" of international authorities in pain medicine, neurology, neurosurgery, neuroscience, psychiatry, psychology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, palliative medicine, and other relevant fields. Access the complete contents online anytime, anywhere at www.expertconsult.com. Translate scientific findings into clinical practice with updates on the genetics of pain, new pharmacologic and treatment information, and much more. Easily visualize important scientific concepts with a high-quality illustration program, now in full color throughout. Choose the safest and most effective management methods with expanded coverage of anesthetic techniques. Stay abreast of the latest global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, addiction and substance abuse, neuromodulation and pain management, identification of specific targets for molecular pain, and other hot topics.

From an interdisciplinary author team now including orthopedic surgeons, PM&R specialists, and primary care and sports medicine experts, the second edition of Musculoskeletal Physical Examination: An Evidence-Based Approach educates physicians on how to give the most thorough physical examinations by understanding the "why" behind each type of exam. In-depth coverage of today's newest tests and techniques keeps you current in practice, and a new section titled "Author's Preferred Approach" guides you through difficult areas of examination. Provides complete coverage of every musculoskeletal physical examination. Easy-to-use tables summarize and compare the evidence for specificity and sensitivity of each test for each condition. Utilizes over 200 illustrations to clearly depict each test. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also have access to over 100 in-depth videos - many new to this edition - highlighting the latest exam techniques, such as the Thessaly test, Milking test, and Bear hug test. Distinguished author team now includes orthopedic surgeons, PM&R specialists, and primary care sports medicine experts. New section titled "Author's Preferred Approach" guides readers through difficult areas of examination. Thorough updates and revisions made throughout each chapter keep you current in the field. Full-color figures enhance visual clarity.

Newly updated, this full-color text offers a rich array of features to help you develop your musculoskeletal assessment skills. Orthopedic Physical Assessment, 6th Edition provides rationales for various aspects of assessment and covers every joint of the body, as well as specific topics including principles of assessment, gait, posture, the head and face, the amputee, primary care, and emergency sports assessment. Artwork and photos with detailed descriptions of assessments clearly demonstrate assessment methods, tests, and causes of pathology. The text also comes with an array of online learning tools, including video clips demonstrating assessment tests, assessment forms, and more. Thorough, evidence-based review of orthopedic physical assessment covers everything from basic science through clinical applications and special tests. 2,400 illustrations include full-color clinical photographs and drawings as well as radiographs, depicting key concepts along with assessment techniques and special tests. The use of icons to show the clinical utility of special tests supplemented by evidence - based reliability & validity tables for tests & techniques on the Evolve site The latest research and most current practices keep you up to date on accepted practices. Evidence-based reliability and validity tables for tests and techniques on the EVOLVE site provide information on the diagnostic strength of each test and help you in selecting proven assessment tests. A Summary (Pr#65533;cis) of Assessment at the end of each chapter serves as a quick review of assessment steps for the structure or joint being assessed. Quick-reference data includes hundreds of at-a-glance summary boxes, red-flag and yellow-flag boxes, differential diagnosis tables, muscle and nerve tables, and classification, normal values, and grading tables. Case studies use real-world scenarios to help you develop assessment and diagnostic skills. Combined with other books in the Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation series - Pathology and Intervention, Scientific Foundations and Principles of Practice, and Athletic and Sport Issues - this book provides the clinician with the knowledge and background necessary to assess and treat musculoskeletal conditions. NEW! Online resources include video clips, assessment forms, text references with links to MEDLINE#65533; abstracts, and more. NEW! Video clips demonstrate selected movements and the performance of tests used in musculoskeletal assessment. NEW! Text references linked to MEDLINE abstracts provide easy access to abstracts of journal articles for further review. NEW! Forms from the text with printable patient assessment forms can be downloaded for ease of use. NEW! Updated information in all chapters includes new photos, line drawings, boxes, and tables. NEW! The use of icons to show the clinical utility of special tests supplemented by evidence - based reliability & validity tables for tests & techniques on the Evolve site.