Physiotherapy Persistent Pain Management: Books

The highly anticipated new edition of Pain: a textbook for health professionals (previous subtitle a textbook for therapists) has undergone a major rewrite in order to reflect the rapid developments in the field of pain management. It highlights an effective and evidence-based method, providing the theoretical basis to help with the assessment and management of persistent pain, while also discussing in depth a range of specific approaches. Pain: a textbook for health professionals is written emphatically from a biopsychosocial perspective. In order to set the scene, the introductory section includes chapters on the patient's voice and social determinants of pain. This ensures that the deeply personal and social aspects of pain are not lost among the more technical and biological commentary. These aspects provide an overall context, and are revisited in chapters on participation of life roles, work rehabilitation and psychology. The basic science section includes key chapters on the psychology, neuroanatomy and neurophysiology of pain. This provides a basis for subsequent chapters on specific approaches such as pharmacology, physical therapy and complementary medicine. Pain in specific patient groups, including children, the elderly and those with cancer, are dealt with in separate chapters, as are pain problems such as complex regional pain syndrome and chronic spinal pain. Although the emphasis of the book is on long term pain, acute pain is discussed as a possible precursor and determinant of chronicity. "The book covers a multitude of facets with regards relieving a patients pain, there are sections for pharmacological actions, rehabilitation, manual therapy and exercise therapy to name a few. The book is well researched and gives a very comprehensive overview of the major factors a therapist would require to treat pain." Physical Therapy In Sport, oct 14 Patient-centred approach to care - advocates listening to the patient's voice Covers social determinants of pain Guides the reader from pain psychology to the practical application of psychological interventions Learning aids - chapter objectives, reflective exercises, case examples, and revision questions Emphasizes an evidence-based perspective Written by an international team of experts topics such as pain in children and the elderly, pain education for professionals, disability and medico-legal aspects expanded focus on complex regional pain syndrome, acupuncture and psychology improved layout for a better learning and studying experience

Designed to be used as a manual for clinicians to explain pain to patients, as a workbook completed with patient and clinician, or as a part of a cognitive-behavioural multidisciplinary pain management program, or for the patient to use as a take-home resource.

This book describes the underlying mechanisms and management of pain. It is aimed primarily at undergraduates who traditionally have received somewhat fragment teaching of this important problem within their curriculum. This text bringS the elements of pain training together in one place and improve their understanding. It also helps anybody in the healthcare profession to develop an understanding of pain before moving on to clinical practice or more advanced training. The chapters have a logical sequence building from the basic sciences, introducing possible interventions before addressing assessment and more detailed therapeutic interventions. There are scenarios later in the book to bring together the earlier concepts. This allows the text to be revisited as appropriate throughout the training years or be used as a reference later on.

Chronic pain is a very common problem, impacting on many patients. Assessment and management can be challenging. The ABC of Pain focuses on the pain management issues often encountered in primary care. Covering major chronic pain presentations, such as musculoskeletal pain, low back pain and neuropathic pain, the ABC of Pain also provides guidance on the management of pain in pregnancy, children, older adults, drug dependency and the terminally ill. Beginning with an overview of the epidemiology of chronic pain, pain mechanisms and the assessment of pain, it then provides practical guidance on interventional procedures and methods of effective pain management. The ABC of Pain is a comprehensive, evidence-based reference. It is ideal for GPs, junior doctors, nurse specialists in primary care, palliative care specialists, and also hospital and hospice staff managing chronically and terminally ill patients.

No matter what questions arise in practice or while preparing for boards, Pain Management Secrets, 3rd Edition has the answers. A two-color page layout, portable size, and a list of the "Top 100 Secrets" in pain management help you better meet the challenges you face today. You'll find all the features you rely on from the Secrets Series#65533;-a question-and-answer format, lists, mnemonics, tables and an informal tone-that make reference fast and easy. Expedites reference and review with a question-and-answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from the authors. Features a two-color page layout, "Key Points" boxes, and lists of useful web sites to enhance your reference power. Presents a chapter containing "Top 100 Secrets", providing you with an overview of essential material for last-minute study or self-assessment. Fits comfortably in the pocket of your lab coat so you have it conveniently on hand at all times. Features new editors, Charles E. Argoff, MD and Gary McCleane, MD who present a thorough update on the latest in pain management. Presents a new contemporary internal design that helps you navigate the text easier.

The Bible of Sports Medicine - Now enhanced by a new companion website! Brukner and Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine 4th Edition is the complete practical guide to musculoskeletal medicine and physical therapy, covering all aspects of diagnosis and management of sports-related injuries and physical activity. Extensively revised and expanded by the world's leading sports physicians, this fourth edition continues to set the standard as the pinnacle of current knowledge and practice in sports medicine. At 1,270 pages, 67 chapters and over 1000 full colour images, the fourth edition has 25% more content than the best-selling third edition. All aspects of diagnosis and management of sports-related injuries and physical activity are covered, including the fundamental principles of sports medicine, diagnosis and treatment of sports injuries, enhancement of sports performance and dealing with special groups of participants. With a focus on clinical relevance, each chapter has been comprehensively reviewed and updated and there are 13 brand new chapters covering hot topics such as challenging hip pain, sudden death in sport, hamstring tear management, sideline emergency care, and the latest in pain science. Led by Peter Brukner (Head of Sports Medicine and Sports Science, Liverpool Football Club) and Karim Khan (Professor, University of British Columbia, Vancouver), the 100 strong author team, representing 14 countries around the world, are all renowned experts in their field and have an average of 15 years practical experience. Key Features: - New companion website featuring over 4 hours of assess¬ment and treatment video and audio material which will be updated regularly - 12 months access with book purchase - Comprehensively reviewed and updated featuring an expert international author team - Expanded! Includes 13 new chapters covering topics such as hip pain, military medicine, prevention of sudden cardiac death and the integration of evidence into clinical practice - MORE illustrations than ever before with over 1000 colour photographs demonstrating techniques, exercises and sports injuries and purpose drawn full colour anatomical illustrations - Full colour text design greatly enhances readability of the content while clear colour differentiation for headings and figures ensures ease of use The fourth edition is enhanced by a new companion website featuring Clinical Sports Medicine Masterclasses Online. Readers will gain access to this secure site via a pincode included with the book. The site will include video clips of clinical examinations, interviews with leading experts and will be updated regularly. Brukner and Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine 4E provides excellent value as an authoritative clinical foundation for physiotherapists, medical practitioners, osteopaths, massage therapists, podiatrists, sports/athletic trainers, sports therapists, fitness leaders and athletes. It is widely adopted by students in sports physiotherapy, medicine, and human movement studies/kinesiology.

Awarded second place in the 2013 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Palliative Care and Hospice category This book provides many options for pain management in cancer patients, including pharmacological and nonpharmacological options, ... and] is well organized and easy to navigate. Score: 92, 4 Stars.--Doody's Medical Reviews Overall, this book] is a comprehensive and wide-ranging text that, as proclaimed on the cover, is evidence-based and fully referenced. Practitioners and students alike will find it useful, and it deserves a place on the library shelf where people from a wide range of backgrounds can gain access."--International Journal of Palliative Nursing " This] text is full of 'clinical pearls' based on the authors'] extensive clinical experience with effective and ineffective pain management interventions nThe scope of the content in this text is extremely comprehensive nnewer content on the effect of opioid polymorphisms, cancer pain emergencies, myofascial pain, and chronic pain in cancer survivors places this text at the forefront in terms of cutting-edge issues in cancer pain management." Christine Miaskowski, RN, PhD, FAAN Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs American Cancer Society Clinical Research Professor Sharon A. Lamb Endowed Chair in Symptom Management Research Department of Physiological Nursing University of California, San Francisco, CA From the Foreword Although the prevalence of uncontrolled cancer pain remains unnecessarily high, research has indicated that 90% of cancer patients with pain can be successfully treated with standard therapies. This concise yet extremely comprehensive guide to managing cancer pain will enable nurses on the front lines of pain assessment and management to incorporate effective strategies into their daily practice. It offers quick access to current evidence-based guidelines for busy nurses and nurse practitioners working in all oncology care settings. To facilitate quick information retrieval, the text is designed in a consistently organized, bulleted format with highlighted key information and tools for assessment and standardized treatment. It also serves as an important review for the ONS and HPNA certification exam. This book focuses on all aspects of cancer pain, including assessment and screening tools, pharmacologic and nonpharmacologic treatment options, current national guidelines for pain management, regional anesthesia techniques, patient-controlled anesthesia, and epidural pain management. It also includes updated information on the effect of opioid polymorphisms, cancer pain emergencies, myofascial pain, and chronic pain in cancer survivors. The book covers palliative care and end-of-life pain management, especially for patients who have symptoms that are not managed. Information on chronic pain conditions such as neuropathic pain in cancer and the use of adjuvant medications for pain control are included, along with special treatment options for addiction and substance abuse in the cancer population. The text additionally provides information on managing pain with difficult-to-treat populations. Key Features: Provides current, evidence-based information on all aspects of cancer pain management Includes important new guidelines on using a combination of pain management scales for optimal pain assessment and management Describes interventional techniques for managing severe pain situations Organized for speedy information retrieval "

Pain Assessment and Pharmacologic Management, by highly renowned authors Chris Pasero and Margo McCaffery, is destined to become the definitive resource in pain management in adults. It provides numerous reproducible tables, boxes, and figures that can be used in clinical practice, and emphasizes the benefits of a multimodal analgesic approach throughout. In addition, Patient Medication Information forms for the most commonly used medications in each analgesic group can be copied and given to patients. This title is an excellent resource for nurses to become certified in pain management. Presents best practices and evidence-based guidelines for assessing and managing pain most effectively with the latest medications and drug regimens. Features detailed, step-by-step guidance on effective pain assessment to help nurses appropriately evaluate pain for each patient during routine assessments. Provides reproducible tables, boxes, and figures that can be used in clinical practice. Contains Patient Medication Information forms for the most commonly used medications in each analgesic group, to be copied and given to patients. Offers the authors' world-renowned expertise in five sections: Underlying Mechanisms of Pain and the Pathophysiology of Neuropathic Pain includes figures that clearly illustrate nociception and classification of pain by inferred pathology. Assessment includes tools to assess patients who can report their pain as well as those who are nonverbal, such as the cognitively impaired and critically ill patients. Several pain-rating scales are translated in over 20 languages. Nonnopioids includes indications for using acetaminophen or NSAIDs, and the prevention and treatment of adverse effects. Opioids includes guidelines for opioid drug selection and routes of administration, and the prevention and treatment of adverse effects. Adjuvant Analgesics presents different types of adjuvant analgesics for a variety of pain types, including persistent (chronic) pain, acute pain, neuropathic pain, and bone pain. Prevention and treatment of adverse effects is also covered. Includes helpful Appendices that provide website resources and suggestions for the use of opioid agreements and for incorporating pain documentation into the electronic medical record. Covers patients from young adults to frail older adults. Provides evidence-based, practical guidance on planning and implementing pain management in accordance with current TJC guidelines and best practices. Includes illustrations to clarify concepts and processes such as the mechanisms of action for pain medications. Features spiral binding to facilitate quick reference.

This book provides, in a single cohesive source, all the information a health care professional needs to diagnose and select appropriate treatments for the patient with pain associated with cancer. Cancer Pain: Assessment, Diagnosis, and Management is clinically oriented and comprehensively addresses all the issues surrounding modern cancer pain management. The authors provide detailed information on common but difficult to treat cancer pain scenarios. Coverage includes state-of-the-art information on treatment options and discussions of the impact of radiation, chemotherapy, and surgery on pain management. This authoritative, comprehensive clinical reference is essential for all clinicians who treat patients with cancer, including medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, surgeons, pain specialists, anesthesiologists, primary care physicians, internists, and nurses.

Back Pain: a movement problem is a practical manual to assist all students and clinicians concerned with the evaluation, diagnosis and management of the movement related problems seen in those with spinal pain disorders. It offers an integrative model of posturomovement dysfunction which describes the more commonly observed features and related key patterns of altered control. This serves as a framework, guiding the practitioner's assessment of the individual patient. Examines aspects of motor control and functional movement in the spine, its development, and explores probable reasons why it is altered in people with back pain Maps the more common clinical patternsof presentation in those with spinal pain and provides a simple clinical classification system based upon posturomovement impairments Integrates contemporary science with the insights of extensive clinical practice Integrates manual and exercise therapy and provides guiding principles for more rational therapeutic interventions: which patterns of movement in general need to be encouraged which to lessen and how to do so Abundantly illustrated to present concepts and to illustrate the difference between so-called normal and dysfunctrional presentations Written by a practitioner for practitioners

All children have a right to appropriate prevention, assessment and control of their pain. Managing Pain in Children is an evidence-based, practical guide to care in all areas of children's pain management, providing nurses and other health care practitioners with the skills and expertise necessary to manage children's pain effectively. The text first explores the relevant anatomy and physiology of children, the latest policy guidelines surrounding pain management and ethical issues involved in managing children's pain. It then goes on to look at the various pain assessment tools available for children and non-drug methods of pain relief. The text then goes on to apply these pain management principles to practice in relation to acute pain, chronic pain, palliative care and the management of procedural pain. Each of these chapters covers the evidence base, assessment techniques, pain relieving interventions, and guidance for best practice in both hospital and community settings. Special features: Practical and accessible, with 'best practice' points in each chapter Written in the context of latest policy developments Provides the necessary evidence-base for care throughout With contributions from experts in the field

Introducing the first definitive guide to pain management in the cancer patient A Doody's Core Title for 2011! "This book is comprehensive in scope and multidisciplinary in its approach. It is an excellent resource for oncologists, fellows, residents, medical students, oncology nurses, pharmacists, and other healthcare professionals who provide care for people with cancer. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service This pioneering book is the first to provide in-depth coverage of all the interventional and medical strategies needed for effective cancer pain management. Logically organized, this immensely practical guide starts with general principles in cancer pain management, followed by management of specific cancer pain syndromes, unique issues, interventional techniques, and other specialized approaches. Reflecting an approach to pain management developed at the prestigious M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Cancer Pain Management addresses the full spectrum of cancer pain syndromes and reviews the selection and administration of various treatment options. FEATURES Discussions of the psychosocial aspects of pain and how to resume and retain function for specific pain -- or disease-affected areas, such as in muscle tissue and bowels An incisive examination of all cancer pain syndromes Evidence-based pain management algorithms for each pain syndrome (included in each chapter) and synoptic tips for ensuring optimal patient care and pain relief Special issues in cancer pain management, such as ethical issues; dealing with regulatory concerns related to the prescription of opioids; chronic pain in the cured cancer patient; complementary and alternative approaches to cancer pain; intervention, spiritual, family and cultural issues; wound care; and procedural pain management Coverage of advanced technical protocols involved in interventional pain management Chapter-ending summary bullets and references that provide important opportunities for further study Helpful, practical appendices And more

WALL AND MELZACK'S TEXTBOOK OF PAIN, revised under new editorial leadership, and with a host of new, multidisciplinary international contributors, the 5th Edition once again covers virtually every aspect of pain. More than 125 leading minds in the field document all of the very latest knowledge about the neurophysi#65533;ology, psychology, and assessment of every type of pain syndrome, and describe today's full range of pharmacologic, surgical, electrostimulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options. Covers all aspects of the physiology, psychology, assessment, and management of pain. Features contributions from a "who's who" of authorities in pain medicine, ensuring that the book is the most current, reliable, and complete core reference in the field. Features the expertise of two highly respected new editors-Stephen McMahon, PhD and Martin Koltzenburg, MD, PhD-as well as many new contributors, for a completely fresh look at the subject. Uses a new, consistent format to present therapeutic options in an easy-to-review manner. Provides increased coverage of anesthetic techniques. Incorporates the most recent pharmacologic developments involving drug categories such as anticonvulsants, antidepressants, muscle relaxants, and cannabinoids. Several new chapters, including the one on addiction to pain medication, clinical trials, and evidence-based medicine in pain, extended headache section (1 chapter in 4/e vs. 4 chapters in 5/e). Offers many new illustrations to provide a colorful and graphic representation of important concepts. Reflects all of the changes that have taken place in this rapidly moving field.

This pocket-sized book is an excellent accessible, portable source of guidance on the principles and practices of pain management. The new edition features a new focus on chronic pain, incorporates all of the newest pain medications, reflects our latest understanding of pain physiology, and presents entirely new sections covering functional imaging and the use of strong opioid medications for the relief of non-cancer pain. Offers practical information on managing pain associated with cancer, HIV, and chronic syndromes such as back pain and scar pain. Presents valuable insights into the psychology of pain. Reviews the basic science of pain and its management. Presents totally new sections on functional imaging and on the use of strong opioid medications for the relief of non-cancer pain. Incorporates all of the newest drugs used in chronic pain management. Describes the latest knowledge concerning the physiology of pain. Features a new exclusive focus on chronic pain.

The Third Edition of this best-selling guide to the Key Topics in Chronic Pain has now expanded its remit to include material on acute pain management also. In addition, the existing material has been completely updated to reflect new activity in the field of anti-inflammatory drugs and physiotherapy, amongst other topics.

Nearly forty years after its original publication, one of the most influential textbooks on modern pain management is available again for today's generation, in a unique and enhanced edition.  Now complemented by expert, chapter-by-chapter commentaries from leading authorities on psychologically-oriented pain management and pain-associated disability, Fordyce's Behavioral Methods for Chronic Pain and Illness blends Dr. Fordyce's pioneering behavioral concepts with modern research and clinical practice.  This innovative title is ideal for clinicians and researchers involved in the multidisciplinary assessment, treatment, and management of pain and pain-associated disorders, as well as anyone interested in behavioral approaches to chronic pain and illness.   Throughout his long and illustrious career, Wilbert (Bill) Fordyce made major contributions to the health and well-being of those who suffered from chronic illnesses.  As a clinical psychologist working in rehabilitation medicine, he put health psychology on the map for those who had chronic pain and began the cognitive/behavioral approach to pain management.  Excelling in research, teaching, and patient care, he was a founding member of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) and the American Pain Society (APS), lectured worldwide, and received numerous awards and honors in his field. His seminal book, Behavioral Methods for Chronic Pain and Illness, was originally published in 1976 and opened a new era in the diagnosis and treatment of chronic pain. This republication with contemporary commentaries is an indispensable resource for a biopsychosocial approach to the management of chronic pain.

Learn a multidisciplinary approach to pain management This concise yet comprehensive text is a true one-stop resource for anesthesiologists, specialists in pain medicine, neurologists, physiatrists, and primary care physicians wishing to understand more about pain medicine, and fellows and residents training in pain medicine. Every aspect of diagnosing and treating specific pain conditions and syndromes is covered, including general principles, anatomy, physiology, physical and laboratory diagnosis, psychology, and therapeutic interventions. Each chapter represents a careful distillation of current science, key concepts, and clinical treatments of the subject, all presented in a highly accessible design. The authors have included an extensive list of references at the end of each chapter to encourage further research. Highlights include: Authored by leaders who represent the many disciplines that comprise this evolving field Emphasizes the use of injections and nerve blocks as an aid to diagnosis, prognosis, and therapy Discusses pain categorized by anatomic location as well as syndrome Incorporates vivid illustrations depicting the physical symptoms and anatomy of each site, as well as key findings from MRI, CT, X-rays, and other imaging technologies Includes new coverage that goes beyond the clinical boundaries of pain medicine, such as law, ethics, and business administration Concise and comprehensive approach is geared for pain medicine board preparation and major section on headache medicine is designed to assist with preparation for board certification in headache medicine Illuminates the multidisciplinary perspective and interdisciplinary approach to managing chronic pain with many chapters on the psychology of pain and applications of psychotherapeutic and mind/body interventions

An in-depth analysis of basic and clinical research on cancer pain, Cancer Pain: From Molecules to Suffering describes underlying mechanisms of cancer pain and reviews opioid treatment issues, including tolerance. This comprehensive new volume discusses current drug trials and research, clinical trial designs, common reactions including inflammation and hyperalgesia, the psychology of cancer pain, and disparities in the availability of cancer care worldwide. Who should buy this book? Cancer Pain: From Molecules to Suffering is essential reading for:     Clinicians, including physicians, nurses, physical therapists, and psychologists     Cancer researchers interested in studying the mechanisms and psychology of pain, as well as clinical drug trials     Global health care professionals who experience disparities in cancer treatment     Medical students who want to improve their skills in cancer pain assessment and management